Jury / Awards


TOKYO FILMEX 2022 AWARDS as of Nov. 05, 2022


【Grand Prize】 

Director:Makbul MUBARAK
Indonesia, France, Singapore, Poland, Philippines, Germanym, Qatar / 2022 / 116 min

~The winnig film’s director will receive 700,000yen

With a confident cinematic style that embraces brilliant mise-en-scène, the exploration of an individual's resistance against a giant web of moral control gradually transforms into the depiction of the disturbing perversity of power structure - a theme that is urgent and universal.

【Special Jury Prize】 

Return to Seoul
Director:Davy CHOU
Germany, France, Belgium / 2022 / 116 min

~The winnig film’s director will receive 150,000yen

Where do we come from and where do we go? The search for identity and origin leads to a distinctively attractive cultural and cinematic journey that opens up questions, possibilities, and new perspectives.

【Special Jury Prize】 

Next Sohee
Director:JUNG July
South Korea / 2022 / 138min

~The winnig film’s director will receive 150,000yen

In a ruthless world driven by corporate culture and capitalist quests for efficiency and financial achievement, the thoughtful reflection on how lives and other values are sacrificed sheds a light on the mechanism of human exploitation.

【Special Mention】 

The Dam
Director:Ali CHERRI
France, Sudan, Lebanon, Germany, Serbia, Qatar / 2022 / 80 min

An artistic and poetic blend of realism and imagination, the film's metaphorical representations articulate man's futile struggle against corruption and the perils of globalization.

■Audience Award

A Far Shore
Director:KUDO Masaaki
Japan / 2022 / 128min

■Student Jury Prize

Mediterranean Fever
Director:Maha HAJ
Palestine, Germany, France, Cyprus, Qatar / 2022 / 108 min

From the film, we felt a sense of gentleness that hugged their identities.
Sense of a distinct despair in the midst of the humour.
The film depicted a man living in a dark society, and the expansion of the world continues beyond the film, even the life beyond that.


■ Talents Tokyo 2022 AWARD
「Forte」(SON Heui Song)/KOREA)

For her energetic delivery and the originality of a project that blends socially relevant issue with a novel take on the musical and horror genre, the Talents Tokyo Award goes to Son Heui Song for the project FORTE.

~The winning film’s director /producer will receive 300,000yen from the organizers

■Special Mention
「Future Laobans」(Maung Sun/MYANMAR)



TOKYO FILMeX Competition

This year’s TOKYO FILMeX Competition will present 9 new films by the best emerging filmmakers in Asia. The Jury that consists of four international film professionals will judge the films in this
program, and the following prizes will be announced at the award ceremony in the evening of November 5th.

Grand Prize: The winning film's director will receive 700,000 yen.

Special Jury Prize: The winning film's director will receive 300,000 yen.

The Chairperson of the Jury

Rithy PANH (France, Cambodia / Film Director)

Born in Phnom Penh, Cambodia, Rithy Panh arrived in Paris in 1980 after fleeing the genocide led by the Khmer Rouge regime. He studied at IDHEC. In 2003, S21, The Khmer Rouge Killing Machine, a widely awarded documentary, reviews the policy of systematic elimination orchestrated by the Khmer Rouge between 1975 and 1979. In 2006, he co-founded the Bophana center in Cambodia, allowing archiving Cambodian audiovisual heritage and training in its professions.
In 2013, his film The Missing Picture was the first Cambodian film nominated for an Oscar, for best foreign language film. His latest film Irradiated, in competition at the Berlinale 2020, received the award for best documentary. Rithy Panh has co- authored several books including “The Elimination” and “Peace with the Dead” with Christophe Bataille published by Grasset.


The jury members

Kiki FUNG (Hong Kong / Programmer)

Kiki Fung is Programme Consultant for Hong Kong International Film Festival, Advisor for The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts’s School of Film &; Television, and a contributor for Undine Far East Film Festival. She was former Head Programmer for Australia’s Brisbane International Film Festival and Brisbane Asia Pacific Film Festival, and has guest-curated for the Brisbane Festival and Sydney’s Museum of Contemporary Art. Before moving to Australia in 2010, she worked at the Hong Kong Film Archive for seven years in areas of publication editing and venue management during which she assisted in editing several publications on Hong Kong Cinema. She is a member of the Hong Kong Film Critics Society.

KIM Hee-Jung (Korea / Film Director)

Graduated from Łódź Film School in Poland, director Kim Hee-Jung was selected for the Cannes Residency in Paris where she completed her first scenario for The Wonder Years (2007). Grape Candy (2012) earned her the Pitch & Catch Award at the Seoul International Women’s Film Festival (SIWFF) 2011. Snow Paths (2015) was selected for the JEONJU Cinema Project at the JEONJU International Film Festival (JEONJU IFF) 2015, and the film was invited to several film festivals including the Karlovy vary International Film Festival. A French Woman (2019) received the APM KOCCA Award at the Busan International Film Festival in 2016, and was followed by the awards for Best Actress and Best Filming at the Wildflower Film Awards 2021. Currently, she has finished filming, Where Would You Like To Go?, a selection from APM 2021, which is now in its post-production process.

Audience Award

The award-winning film is chosen from all of the section after the vote of the audience. (expect the Closing film and films screened after the 5th November)

Student Jury Prize

Three stuent jurors will evaluate the 9 films in Competition, and the “Student Jury Prize” winning film will be announced at the award ceremony on Saturday, November 30. The selection of the student jurors and the admistration will be undertaken by the Tokyo Student Film Festival.

HARUO Saki (Tokyo University of the Arts)

YAMABE Asako(Musashino Art University)

TAKANO Shiho(Rikkyo University)